Heart on my sleeve..

19 Jan

I love this post on GWP by Kaleigh Somers.

I too have struggled with friends who feel it’s better to keep it all inside when it comes to love.

To wait til theyre drunk to say “I love you”

And then I think ‘Is there something wrong with me?’

If you havent met me, Im Jessica. I like to say it how it is. I don’t have that great of a filter. I am honest with everyone, especially my friends. And I can’t stand people who say ‘Im sorry’ all of the time.

So yes, I wear my heart on my sleeve. I like people quickly. Then, I am over it quickly. I feel like it’s the best way to be.

To give 110%. And to not worry if it will work out in the end.

Its like sports. Athletes are trained to leave their hearts on the field. To know they gave everything whether it was a win or a loss. So why are we so scared to do this as women?

Sure, we have been hurt. We don’t want to look ‘crazy’. We don’t want to rush things. But I don’t like to waste my time..

I don’t want to have to wait until 5 drinks in, to ramble my incoherent thoughts about love. Only to feel stupid in the morning. And to not remember what I said or, more importantly, the response.

So as Kaleigh writes, “living with your heart in the palm of your hands is much better than never feeling anything at all.”

I whole heartedly agree.

And, to be honest, there is a place I should be more forthcoming with my heart. My prayer is that, time wont run out before I will be able to.

 

 

Leave a Reply

